Welcome to the Louisiana Public Service Commission Website

The Louisiana Public Service Commission (LPSC) is an independent regulatory agency dedicated to serving the public interest by assuring safe, reliable, and reasonably priced services provided by public utilities and motor carriers.


The LPSC consists of five elected Commissioners who serve overlapping terms of six years and a staff of 92. Created by Article VI, Section 3-9 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1921, the LPSC succeeded The Railroad Commission of Louisiana, which was created by the Constitution of 1898. The LPSC's constitutional authority was reaffirmed by the Constitution of 1974, in Article IV, Section 21.


The overall goals of the Commission are to ensure a regulatory balance that enables utilities to provide customers with safe, adequate and reliable service, at rates that are just and reasonable, equitable and economically efficient, and that allow utilities an opportunity to earn a fair rate of return on their investment.


In addition, the Commission  continues to take an active and cautious role in the development of a competitive, market-based approach to utility regulation whenever such an approach is in the public interest.



All hearings and status conferences scheduled between August 12, 2016 and August 26, 2016 have been cancelled and will be rescheduled. 


Any filing for which the deadline falls between August 12, 2016 and August 26, 2016 may be made on August 29, 2016.  Deadlines for all Commission issued RFPs are not affected by this filing suspension.


Parties and attorneys may contact the LPSC Administrative Hearings Division at (225) 219-9417 or LPSC staff attorneys at (225) 342-9888 regarding specific proceedings. - August 16, 2016, 4:35PM


Photo by Mahesh Chinnaiyan, licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License


Most Recent News and Information

August 26, 2016
Supplemental Agenda - August 31, 2016  B & E


August 26, 2016
Bulletin # 1122


August 23, 2016
General Order 8-22-2016 (Exemption of non-profit systems from Commission regulations)


August 19, 2016
Executive Order Dated August 19, 2016 - Emergency Suspension of Late Payment Fees.


August 19, 2016
Agenda - August 31, 2016  B & E


August 18, 2016
Emergency Executive Order  Regarding Customer Disconnects


Rulemaking Order No. R-34120 - for Louisiana Public Service Commission ex parte


General Order 8-5-2016 R-33916 - for Louisiana Public Service Commission ex parte

Consumer Links